Madera City Council Madera City Council


The City of Madera was incorporated on March 27, 1907. It is a general law city which operates under the Council/Manager form of government. The Madera City Council, a board of seven, is the elected legislative body of the City of Madera. Members of the City Council are elected by district and the Mayor is elected at large. There are six (6) Council districts.  Members of the City Council, including the Mayor, serve four year terms.

Regular meetings of the Madera City Council are held the first and third Wednesday of each month. Meetings are held in the Council Chambers at City Hall located at 205 W. 4th St., Madera, California 93637.
Closed Session and Workshops:   6:00 p.m.
Regular session: 6:30 p.m.
Administration of city operations and services to the community are provided by the following departments: Administration, Airport, City Attorney, City Clerk, Code Enforcement, Community Development (Building, Engineering, and Planning), Finance, Fire, Grants, Human Resources, Information Systems, Parks and Community Services, Police, Public Works, Purchasing, Solid Waste, and the Wastewater Treatment Plant. 
For additional information on City of Madera departments, please view the department pages.
Left to right: Council Member Sally J. Bomprezzi, Council Member Donald E. Holley, Mayor Robert L. Poythress, Mayor Pro Tem Derek O. Robinson Sr., Council Member Andrew J. Medellin, Council Member Gary L. Svanda.
NOTICE OF COUNCIL REORGANIZATION - At a regular meeting held on Wednesday, December 3, 2014, the Madera City Council reorganized as follows. 
Mayor Robert L. Poythress
Mayor Pro Tem William Oliver
Council Member Charles Flores Rigby
Council Member Sally J. Bomprezzi
Council Member Andrew J. Medellin
Council Member Donald E. Holley
Council Member Derek O. Robinson
Members of the Madera City Council – Click on name to view individual pages.
Term Ends


Robert L. Poythress
December 2016

Council Member
District 1

Sally J. Bomprezzi
December 2018

Council Member
District 2

Andrew J. Medellin
December 2016
William Oliver
Mayor Pro Tem*
December 2018
Derek O. Robinson
December 2016
Charles Flores Rigby
December 2018
Donald E. Holley
 December 2016
*The Mayor Pro Tem position is rotated annually, the first meeting in December, amongst the Council Members serving.